4 Years to Normal

A lot can happen in 4 years. In the past 4 years, I have taught in 4 different buildings. I have earned my masters degree. I have added a furry friend to my home and my heart. I have loved, been loved and been brokenhearted. I have been blessed to add inspirational, loyal friends to my life. I have witnessed friends get married and have babies. I have run until I thought my legs would give out. I have become a part of a new and amazing church that has inspired me to give my whole heart and my whole life to God. I have traveled the world and left my heart in San Salvador. I have watched one of my best friends conquer cancer year after year.

4 years ago, I watched my mom take on cancer for one final battle. I think back on all the things that have happened in the past 4 years and wish so desperately that she would have been a part of each one. I believe she would be proud of my perseverance as I am bounced from school to school. Dewey’s antics would drive Mom crazy, but she would love him for his fantastic cuddling abilities. She would have held me as I cried over yet another love lost and asked too many questions at the mention of another possibility of love. Mom would absolutely love my new friends. And she would be so of the ones that have stayed through the years. Kristen & Trai’s wedding would have BLOWN. HER. MIND. And she would have rolled her eyes because she would have known that the wedding bar had been raised. And oh my goodness, she would have never give Baby Dominick back once she had him in her arms. Mom loved babies! She might not have understood why I felt the need to run 13.1 miles, but she would have been there at the finish line cheering me on. Rock City Church would be exactly the kind of church she could thrive in. Creating a life in another country is definitely not something Mom would have ever done, but I hope she would be proud of my passion to see God’s love shown through me all over the world. And oh how proud she would be to see Amee kick cancer’s ass year after year and really show cancer who’s boss with the upcoming Baby BellWanzo!

I would give every moment up for just one more hug, one more “I love you too!”

There isn’t a moment I don’t want to share with Mom. It doesn’t get easier as time goes on; it just becomes more normal.

If you are as blessed as I was to have The World’s Best Mom (because, let’s be honest…we all do!), give her a hug, send her a text, pick up the phone…let her know that just 1 day is too long to go without sharing even the smallest of moments.

Ohio University Mom’s Weekend, Spring 2005
Leave a Reply

