The 7 Life Miracles: Life Coaching, Session #1

My dear friend Julie Wilkes has written a book, The 7 Life Miracles! I will be working through her book and journaling my experiences as I go. For more information on the book and what I intend to do here, please check out THIS POST!

7 Life Miracles

Life Coaching, Session #1

After reading and completing the exercises for Miracle 3, Create, my “So What?” was to contact Julie and set up a Life Coaching Session. One of the purposes of the Miracle 3 exercises is to look at your life as is vs. what you dream it could be and then take steps towards creating your dream life. As I completed the exercises, I quickly began to realize that I had never really stopped to think about what my dream life is! I’ve always just taken life as it comes and crossed bridges as I came to them. I have never had one lofty goal that I have worked towards.

Another thing that compelled me to meet with Julie was the idea that I am not working in my dream career. Yes, I love teaching and I’m good at it, but if money weren’t an issue, is that what I would be doing? No, probably not. So what would I be doing? I’ve always had a couple ideas, but this is where Julie’s assistance would come in. I really wanted to talk to her, begin to define my dream life/career and work towards it.

How’d It Go?!

I had my Kickoff Session with Julie yesterday! This whole thing will be an ongoing process, involving meeting every other week and checking in on Sundays. Our first session was mostly spent on beginning to define what my dream job would be and some steps to work towards that. Julie and I have known each other for about a year now, but this was actually our first chance to sit down and talk intimately. At first, the session felt a little bit like one of my therapy sessions, which is actually a great thing! I’ve had a ton of success with my therapist and I think what they can do to help people is amazing.

Julie began by asking me to really try to think about what my dream life would look like. If I could live anywhere, where would that be? Who would my friends be? After a moment or 2 of thinking, I replied that I’ve always wanted to be somewhere warm; Florida or somewhere Southern, but what keeps me here right now is my people. My home has to be on the beach. I see myself with the same best friends I have now.  My perfect day would include waking up without an alarm clock, having my coffee, spending time with the dog and writing, and most importantly, being outside in the warmth.

This is when I was finally able to admit to myself that if I could make writing a full-time job, that would make me the happiest. But I have never tried to define or create my dream job out of fear. My mom was a teacher, so she knew how to make that happen and once I was a teacher, it became a solid paycheck with 3 months off in the summer. I have been very fortunate in my life that I have never really had to struggle financially. My parents were able (and wanting!) to support my college career and all the other things a person needs in life. Yes, I have had months where my bank account neared $0, resulting in serious budgeting, but then entire time, I knew another paycheck would be on the way in a week or 2. So the idea of having a new career and having to possibly worry about money has caused me to stay in the safety and comfort of my teaching career.

Next, Julie asked me to define a few of my strengths. I listed my ability to make friends with people, the fact that I am a super planner (but also noted that this can be a weakness), and that I am forever optimistic/happy. After reviewing what we had talked about a few moments earlier, Julie found it interesting that I cited not wanting to leave my friends as my reason for still being in Columbus, yet I also listed being able to make new friends quite easily!

Huh…

Now that I think about it, I can attribute that to another one of my strengths: loyalty. Once I am friends with a person, we are friends FOREVER (so buyer beware! 😉 ). I take my friendships very seriously and work very hard to nurture and grow them into lifelong investments. I am always wanting and willing to let new people into my heart, but I want to take special care of the ones that are already there. And I know what happens to friendships when someone moves away. We keep in touch, but obviously it’s just not the same as being able to see someone whenever I want, especially if I were to move down south, which is more than a few hours drive. Because of this, moving might not be something I focus on so much as a possible career change.

Julie then asked me to list my support system (my family and closest friends) and describe a time in the last year that I had been successful. It took me a minute to come up with an answer, but when I did it was completing the half marathon last year. I had to actually train and work for it – I couldn’t just decide to run 13.1 miles a week ahead of time and then actually do it. I especially felt successful because it was my body and no one else could do it for me. The greatest strength that helped me to be successful was my determination and commitment. I said I was going to do it, so I did. Plus, I paid $70, so there was a financial value.

After Julie and I had chatted and gotten to know one another, we defined my goal as working towards becoming a full-time writer. And here was one of the most important parts of this session – I CANNOT FAIL. Not “will not” or “refuse to,” but Julie’s coaching doesn’t allow for failure. Let me explain. My 1-year goal is to take steps to becoming a full-time writer, not to actually become a full-time writer. All of my goals that Julie and I set are goals that I would like to achieve even if I weren’t working towards a career change, so none of them will be hindering to my current wellbeing. To put it another way, in the words of Brad, one of my funniest friends, “It’s not, ‘Step 1 – Quit your job.'”

I know have goals for 1 month, 3 months, 6 months and a year. These are all very pliable and will probably change as time goes on.

1 Month Goals:

  • Research 1 other way to get published/or write
  • Learn about video blogging
  • Meet with 1 person who is a full-time writer and ask questions
  • Research writing classes I could take this summer

3 Month Goals:

  • Research 1-2 ways to get published
  • Try video blogging
  • Meet with 2 people who are writers to ask questions
  • Sign up for writing class
  • Research a place I would like to visit as a potential place to move to

SO WHAT?!

I am actually very excited about this whole thing! Just the idea of having a dream job and actually being able to work towards it in exhilarating! And who knows, maybe I’ll start doing all this and decide that blogging/writing isn’t my dream job at all, but something else is! I feel as thoughI am about to discover quite a bit about myself this year.

Also, I’m gonna throw this out there to help me accomplish a few goals: If you know anything about vlogging (video blogging), writing classes in Columbus, Ohio or are/know a full-time blogger I could meet with, let me know!!

Amanda & I know the 7 Life Miracles...do you??

Amanda & I know the 7 Life Miracles…do you??

*******

ALL THE LINKS!!!

  • My thoughts on
    • Miracle 1: Embrace HERE!
    • Miracle 2: Connect HERE!
    • Miracle 3: Create HERE!
  • Check out everything Julie Wilkes HERE!
  • The 7 Life Miracles on Facebook!
  • Seven Studios on Facebook!
  • Learn about The 7 Life Miracles book HERE!
  • Order The 7 Life Miracles  on Amazon HERE!
  • Check availability at your local Barnes & Noble Bookstore and get it now HERE!
One thought on “The 7 Life Miracles: Life Coaching, Session #1

Leave a Reply

