Ending Up Helping :: January 15th :: Save a Limb Fund

Starting at the young age of 3, I wore glasses. My parents noticed my bad vision when my right eye started crossing over towards my nose. Apparently I was so far-sighted that my eye would cross over to fix my vision. When I was in 8th grade, I had eye surgery to make my vision a little better. I was still far-sighted, but now I could wear contacts. I wasn’t stuck in my bifocal glasses.

Pro Tip: Even with my contacts in, my eye still crosses over after a couple beers…it’s “my tell.”

Some kids have difficulties with math (me). Some kids are born with bad vision (also me). Some have trouble making friends (not me! The other dork kids were my people!). And some kids are born with more noticeable differences, such as missing or ill-proportionate limb.

I was able to have a procedure that made my vision easier to endure, and thanks to the Save a Limb Fund, children and adults with limb deficiencies all over the country have easier lives too.

Save a Limb Fund

“The Save-A-Limb Fund was established in 2001 and supports in the fight to save limbs from amputation and provide hip and knee replacements to patients in need both domestically and abroad. The fund also works to advance patient care through the research and the work of the physicians and staff of the Rubin Institute for Advanced Orthopedics (RIAO) at Sinai Hospital in Baltimore, Maryland.”

Each year, Save a Limb hosts the Save-A-Limb Ride, Walk and Festival fundraiser. Participants ride to “honor the courage and determination of adults and children who are waiting for treatment because they cannot afford it, and who live with daily pain and have difficulty walking because they are unable to afford hip or knee replacement. We also ride to honor the compassion of our physicians and staff.”

Check out this video from the 2013 ride and walk:

The Save-A-Limb Funds are used in the following ways:

  • To financially assist patients who cannot afford housing, transportation, physical therapy or adaptive equipment (wheelchairs, crutches, specialized car seats for children in casts)
  • To offer free initial consultations to patients who qualify for financial aid
  • To support RIAO international outreach missions to the developing world (India, Nicaragua, Dominican Republic, Haiti)
  • To fully implement a digital x-ray system to decrease our patients’ exposure to radiation
  • To support research projects at the Center for Joint Preservation and Replacement and the International Center for Limb Lengthening
  • To host an annual holiday party for children undergoing treatment during the holidays

If you would like to make a donation, please click HERE!

“We have volunteer opportunities for children and adults, so grab your friends and family and join us for a fun day at the park!  All volunteers will receive a volunteer t-shirt and free admission to our post-ride picnic and festival. Bring your group and man one of our water stops as you cheer along the riders. You could also assist us with registration, set up, marking the courses, the family walk, the picnic or the kids’ festival.

For more information or to sign up, please e-mail Beth Markowitz at BMarkowi@lifebridgehealth.org.”

A dear friend of mine has a nephew who was born missing a tibia and one of his legs is 25% shorter than the other. Almost every year, his dad rides in the Save a Limb race. Because of donations and people volunteering their time, that little boy has been able to have surgeries to help him experience as typical a childhood as possible.

My ability to do the things I do on a daily basis is definitely something I take for granted. What if I couldn’t drive my car to work in the morning because I didn’t have a foot to push the pedals? What if I couldn’t teach my lessons because I couldn’t write on the board due to a lack of hands? These situations may seem drastic, but for many people, these situations are their lives. Because of the work done by The Save a Limb Fund, someone’s life does not have to be drastically different just because they are just a little bit different.

…and aren’t we all just a little bit different?

*******

All information was obtained from www.savealimbride.org

Find Save a Limb Fund on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SaveALimbFund

*******

And please, DON’T FORGET!!! If there is a worthwhile cause on your radar, I would LOVE to hear about it! Perhaps it will make it onto this month’s Ending Up Helping series!

One thought on “Ending Up Helping :: January 15th :: Save a Limb Fund

  1. Pingback: LifeBridge Health Media Monday Clips - Week of January 13 - LifeBridge Health Blogs

Leave a Reply

