Ending Up Helping :: January 6th :: Happy Anniversary!

Hoooollllly crap. This blog turned a year old today!!! Where has time gone?!? I looked back on my first post on Ending Up Here and sure enough, I am still standing in stilettos. Okay, fine. I’m actually not wearing shoes, but it’s a snow day here in Columbus! Gimme a break!

A year ago today, I was recovering from a year of an on-again, off-again relationship. It felt like things just kept going wrong in my life. I had graduated college with a degree I never intended to use. I worked for 9 months in a job that sent me home crying every night. My mom was sick (again) with cancer. My mom died from cancer. My dad almost died from an infected colon. My best friends were either moving on, moving away, or both.

I just couldn’t understand why God kept throwing challenge after challenge my way. The first few had made me strong enough! I didn’t need anymore strength tests! What was He trying to prove?? I kept asking, why do I keep ending up here – crying, alone in my bed, with an empty box of Merlot?! Why can’t I end up like the happy people? Why can’t I have a strong, reliable man in my life, be smiling because of all of life’s fortunes and drinking celebratory champagne?

Well folks, that’s just not how life works. Perhaps that is one of the lessons God is trying to teach me. Sure, people look happy, and they might really BE happy, but no one’s life is perfect and I certainly shouldn’t expect mine to be either. This past year has been about taking the good with the bad, and not just focusing in on the bad. Yes, I have had some rough times. But I have had a job to pay my bills, a roof over my head, an amazing family that loves and supports me, and a group of badass friends that inspire me daily.

In the past year, I have:

run a half marathon,

Dad & I at the Finish Line!

Dad & I at the Finish Line!

become a calendar girl model,

Amanda & I worked our butts off to win this calendar girl competition!

Amanda & I worked our butts off to win this calendar girl competition!

received my masters in education,

About to click "Submit" for my final assignment!

About to click “Submit” for my final assignment!

experimented (and failed) with burlesque dancing,

{No image necessary!}

seen one of my bestest friends celebrate 5 years of being cancer free,

We've got Goose, Iceman (me!), Maverick, Charlie and...Evel Knievel! It was a Top Gun themed celebration!

We’ve got Goose, Iceman (me!), Maverick, Charlie and…Evel Knievel! It was a Top Gun themed celebration!

become a founding member of Columbus’ Alternative Fashion Mob,

AFM

watched my brother (whom I only met in 2009) marry one of my best friends,

David, Kelli and I

found out I get to be an auntie to yet another best friend’s baby this May,

rediscovered that I am an independent, self-sufficient woman,

photo 1 (1)

and had a kickass time doing it.

Just a FEW of the people that made this past year so memorable!

Had I stayed in bed with my snotty tissues and empty wine glasses, I would not have had the opportunity to experience all of these wonderful moments.

So instead of focusing on one specific charity today, I am focusing on continuing another year of positive thinking. Yes, donating time and money to a charity is an amazing and selfless thing to do, but why do we do it? Because we have hope for a brighter future in some way. Without hope, donating anything is meaningless. So today, I am focusing on contributing another year of hope to those around me. I want to be a reminder, through my words and my actions, that “ending up here” may be the best place to be.

*******

And please, DON’T FORGET!!! If there is a worthwhile cause on your radar, I would LOVE to hear about it! Perhaps it will make it onto this month’s Ending Up Helping series!

Leave a Reply

