Throwback Thursday, 10.31.13

Halloweeeeeeeen Edition!

Happy Halloween!!

Halloween has ALWAYS been a source of delight for me. I love the idea of being someone else, even for just a few hours. And free candy?? “The first 10 years of my life, I think the only clear thought I had was GET. CANDY.” I even went Trick-or-Treating well into my high school years! My senior year of high school, my girlfriends and I were finally able to have a thought beyond gorging on candy – we went around the neighborhood collecting cans of food for the Mid-Ohio Food Bank. People were quite surprised to see 1. Grown teenagers still trick-or-treating and 2. Grown teenagers not begging for candy! Many people were so impressed that they insisted we took candy along with their canned goods!

What is it though, that gets people so excited to be someone else for a night? For me, I love that once a year (okay, a few times a year), I get to throw on a costume and don the personality of someone else for a little while. Some wonder if maybe Halloween gives us the opportunity to be who we really want to be…

Costumes have included:

-Little piggy (1987)

– Ballerina (1989)

– Hippy (1994-ish)

– A Deal or No Deal Girl (2006)

– Paris Hilton Jailbird (2007)

– Amy Winehouse (2008)

– Glampire (2009)

– and this year…Cruella de Ville!

So who do you really want to be this year?

1987 Piggy with Dad

1987 Piggy with Dad

1989 Ballerina with Mom & Dad

1989 Ballerina with Mom & Dad

2007 Deal or No Deal Girls with my Best Friends at Ohio University

2007 Deal or No Deal Girls with my Best Friends at Ohio University

2007 Paris Hilton Jailbird with Britta, my then roommate

2007 Paris Hilton Jailbird with Britta, my then roommate

2008 Am WInehouse, complete with beehive hair, missing tooth, accurate tattoos and syringe for drugs! I'm most proud of this one!

2008 Amy Winehouse, complete with beehive hair, missing tooth, accurate tattoos and syringe for drugs! I’m most proud of this one!

2009 Glampire

2009 Glampire

This year's Cruella de Ville with my dear friend, Jonathan

This year’s Cruella de Ville with my dear friend, Jonathan

Leave a Reply

