Ending Up Here, 10 Years Later

As I enter into my last week of the 2012-13 school year, I look back at how far my students and I have come this year. Last Thursday, May 23rd,  was my seniors’ last day. We had a beautiful ceremony acknowledging their completion of their career centers. Each kid was smiling from ear to ear, eager to leave high school and enter into the next phase of their life. For some, that is college, others the military, and some are going straight into the workforce. No matter what their plan, I am sure that their time with us has prepared them for survival beyond our classroom doors.

It was this time 10 years ago, that I too was graduating high school and making plans for freedom from school bells, curfews and my parents. It really is hard to believe that time has flown so fast. As I live them, each year just feels as though it is dragging behind me, but then once I get to the end of another one, I am amazed at how much time has passed and the things I have experienced in one short year.

I certainly am not the person I though I would be when I was 18.

When I was 18, I thought by the time I was 28 I would:

  • … be happily married.
    • Part of me REALLY believed I would be married to a Hanson brother…wahhhh wahhhh!
  • … be enjoying a lucrative career as a commercial photographer.
  • … still have my mom alive & well.
  • … have traveled all over Europe.
  • … be living next door to my best friend Sarah.
  • … have a pet boxer.

When I was 18, I NEVER thought by the time I was 28 I would:

  • … be a high school English teacher.
  • … be living on my own in Columbus, Ohio.
  • … have both a biological brother AND sister AND nephew in my life.
  • … have been on a reality TV show.
  • … have run a half marathon.
  • … have my masters degree.
  • … be taking care of my own finances, 100%.

It’s funny to think back on where I thought I’d end up at age 28. My life has taken some seriously unexpected twists and turns and I have grown into a woman I never expected to be. I have seen things I never thought I’d see and persevered through struggles I never thought God would throw into my path. I have come out stronger, more resilient and happier because of each and every blessing and trial. So although 28 isn’t exactly how I pictured it would be 10 years ago, I am more than content with ending up here.

My Senior Picture, circa 2003

My Senior Picture, circa 2003

One thought on “Ending Up Here, 10 Years Later

  1. It’s so amazing to look back at your life and see all the accomplishments that you never imagined you’d go through!

Leave a Reply

