Throwback Thursday, 3.14.13

Two days ago, I stayed home from work because I was sick. Legit sick. This wasn’t one of those, I need a day to work on my masters or I need a day to catch up on rest or I need a day to work on my tan days. This was disgusting, no-one-should-ever-see-me-like-this sick. I won’t go into details (because you might never come back!), but just rest assure that I. Was. Sick.

Well, being that I’m a single girl living alone in the big city (okay fine, it’s suburbia. Whatever.), the only living soul I have to take care of me in my time of need is my dog. And as helpful as Dewey is when it comes to cuddling, he hasn’t quite mastered doorknobs, so there’s no way he’s gonna make it to the store to get me medicine and soup. My mom passed away 2 years ago, so that leaves Dad.

My dad, the superhero.

If there’s one thing my dad is good at, it’s care-taking. He took care of my mother throughout her entire battle with cancer, better than one of Queen Elizabeth’s butlers. Sure, sometimes he goes overboard and can stumble into over-care-taking, but it comes from a wonderful, loving place.

So I called Dad the morning I was sick. Right away, he knew that something was wrong. “You sound off…” “That’s because I am! I stayed home from school because I’ve got the flu or something!”

“What can I do? What do you need? Do you want me to take Dewey for the day? Do you need medicine? What about Ginger Ale? Do you have clear liquids? Sprite? Cherry 7-Up?”

He didn’t skip a beat when jumping into Dad-Mode. He told me he would be over around lunchtime with chicken noodle soup from Panera and some Ginger Ale and Sprite. When he arrived, he came toting a care kit filled with Tylenol, 3 cans of Sprite, 3 cans of Cherry 7-Up, 3 bottles of Ginger Ale, and what looked to be a pint of chicken noodle soup. But most importantly, even though I was sick and he really shouldn’t have risked it, most importantly, he came with a hug.

So today’s Throwback Thursday is dedicated to the #1 man in my life, my dad the superhero.

Thanks Dad, I love you.

This photo was taken, if not the morning after Mom & Dad brought me home from Catholic Social Services, a few days after.From this moment on, I would forever be a Daddy's Girl.

This photo was taken, if not the morning after Mom & Dad brought me home from Catholic Social Services, a few days after.
From this moment on, I would forever be a Daddy’s Girl.

The beach and Disney World have always been 2 of my family's favorite vacation spots.The picture on the right is for giggles! Check out that fanny pack and neon!

The beach and Disney World have always been 2 of my family’s favorite vacation spots.
The picture on the right is for giggles! Check out that fanny pack and neon! And I’m pretty sure those sunglasses clipped onto my actual glasses. Oh, and please disregard my Urkel-high elastic band shorts…

One thought on “Throwback Thursday, 3.14.13

Leave a Reply

