Thanks, Allie!

As I have mentioned before, many of my fabulous friends are taking their thoughts, opinions and ideas and making them public through blogging. I love this for many reasons, one of which being that I get to be inspired by them on an almost daily basis. Well, they do inspire me daily, but this is just a cherry on the Inspiration Pie (I prefer pie to cake, I have recently discovered!).

One of these said friends, Allie, has started a fashion blog, Two Way Mirror, with her quirky husband, Joe. If you haven’t checked it out yet, the gist is that she models amazing outfits and writes why she likes them, where she got them, etc. Then, Joe adds in his 2 cents along with a few humorous quips, usually referencing the 90s or his complete cluelessness regarding women’s fashion.

As far as my fashion sense goes, I have some, but it’s kinda all over the place…actually I think that’s kind of “my thing.” I can’t tell you how many times a girlfriend has said to me, “I could never pull this off, but Ashley, you totally could!” Well, needless to say, I have been trying to add some new tricks to my fashion box, so last weekend, I took Allie shopping. Or she took me shopping. Either way, we were shopping! The goal was to find an inexpensive pair of brown riding boots like the ones she posted about here. There is one GIANT reason that I don’t already own a pair of boots like this, even though they’ve been trendy for about a year now…THEY’RE FLAT!!!!

Okay. Flat footed, I stand (proudly!) at a statuesque (I’m so humble) 5’10”. A few years ago, I decided that it just wasn’t fair that only the short girls should get to wear the sexy stilettos and I’m stuck in flats just because I’m already a head taller than everyone else. I came to this decision because I was in Bakers shoe store (this store would come to be my credit card’s archenemy!) looking for a pair of simple black heels to go with a New Year’s Eve dress, I believe. Well, the pair I fell in love with (and still wear!) were black suede with a 5.5″ heel. Yup. When I step into these ladies, I hover at 6’3″, baby! And that was the start of my obsession with giant heels.

So for me to even consider buying a pair of flat shoes is an exercise in spontaneity. After about an hour of traversing the aisles of DSW, I spied the perfect pair of brown, FLAT riding boots. They were simple, but had just enough flair to not be boring, and were in the clearance rack! Huzzah!

TaaDaaa!!!

TaaDaaa!!!

From shoes, we continued on into the makeup world and Allie showed me things no woman has ever shown me before! But that’s for another post 😉

I woke up this morning feelin’ like P. Diddy…wait, no. I never wake up feeling like P. Diddy. But I DID wake up feeling like I wanted to add some pizazz to my usually casual Friday ensemble. So I thought to myself, WWAW…What Would Allie Wear? and pulled together a pair of skinny jeans from Express, a button-down white shirt, also from Express, a black short sleeve sweater from The Limited and a a necklace (not sure of its origins…I’ve had it FOREVER!). My biggest challenge in this outfit actually was the necklace, which is odd for me because my friends usually come to me for jewelry advice! I think I need bigger pieces to go with more simple outfits. I added my own “Ashley Flair” with some bangles and a tiger ring.

So here it is, my Allie-Inspired outfit!

TaaDaaaaaa (again)!!!!

TaaDaaaaaa (again)!!!! {click to see me bigger!}

So thank you to the beautiful and inspiring Allie for making just a little bit fancier on this frigid Friday!

One thought on “Thanks, Allie!

Leave a Reply

