Throwback Thursday, 1.31.13

So a number of my friends have jumped on the “Throwback Thursday” trend. Apparently, each Thursday, you post a photo of yourself “way back when” I think this is a super cute idea, but I am going to take it in a different direction.

Poetry.

When I was a middle and high-schooler, I truly believed that I was a budding poet (and that I’d marry Isaac Hanson, we’d be married by the time I was 23, and along with my poetry, I’d be a famous photographer…we all had big dreams back in the day!). I have numerous journals filled with emo poetry and teenage angst.

One poem stands out in my memory because I distinctly remember writing it and taking it to my mother, who was folding laundry in the basement and proudly reciting it to her. When I was finished, she beamed, “Ashley, that was really good! You are a wonderful writer!” Now…she was of course supremely biased, but nonetheless, that comment stuck with me, and who knows…maybe it’s why I am here today writing. Lord knows that I am no poet, probably because I stopped writing poems around 11th grade, but my writing skills have developed into something that not only do I enjoy doing, but I think others enjoy as well!

Without further ado, here is my Mom-Approved, 13-year-old view on life:

June 11th, 1998

8 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday, 1.31.13

    • Well, thanks! I always thought I was a very intuitive teenager 😉 It really is amazing to read the tings that “kids” write about how they see and experience the world. It’s part of why I love being a teacher – they show me things in ways I would’ve never seem them before!

      • I admire teachers so much!
        I experienced that with the young children at the daycare I used to teach at. And as they grow and experience more it just gets better!

  1. Pingback: Awesome Poem by a Very Young Ashley | day3of

    • Thanks! As an English teacher and writer, it’s fun to look back and see how far I’ve come! I also pick up on writing quirks that haven’t changed since I was 13, like always being eerily aware that people and situations are not always exactly “as they seem.”

      When I grade my students’ papers, and think to myself, “Wow! This is complete crap!” I often wonder if that is how I wrote when I was their age, and perhaps I am being too harsh! Sometimes I am, and sometimes it is just plain awful 😉

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • Thank you for checking in! I plan to do that sometime this week. Thankfully I’ve been writing new poems and prose 1 to 2 hours per night the past couple weeks, and am trying not to lose momentum But will soon and will let you know.

Leave a Reply

