“My body is my journal & my tattoos are my story.”

-Johnny Depp

Leave it to my husband to say something so meaningful and relatable! Okay, okay, he’s not my husband…yet… 😉 But he is single! aaaand I’ve digressed…

This afternoon I got my 7th (SEVENTH!!!! Wow…) tattoo! I absolutely love it. It might actually be one of my favorites. I opened with the Johnny quote because I actually agree with this statement. I feel as though my life is an open book for anyone who is willing to sit down with a glass of wine, tea or coffee and have a read.  There really isn’t anything that I will not reveal about myself to a sincere listener. Being such an open person has led me to want to share my experiences aesthetically on my body. One of my favorite parts of having tattoos is when people ask what they are, what they mean, etc. Each of my tattoos has a significant meaning to me, and getting to explain it to someone means getting to share a piece of my life with that person; even if it’s only a minute or two of sharing life experiences.

One of my rules when I got my first tattoo was “Nothing that can be seen in a wedding dress!” Because that day will be one of the most important days of my life, and heaven forbid I have some unsightly tattoo sticking out of my dress! Well, that rule went out the window with Tat #2! (see below for tattoo list & placement!) After that, I started to realize that tattoos aren’t hideous mistakes to be hidden away. Sure, you can very quickly and very easily make some pretty awful tattoo decisions that no one would want to see in jeans and a t-shirt, let alone a gorgeous wedding dress! But for me, my tattoos became parts of my journey and works of art. Each one has a story and, I believe, is beautiful.

So today I added another chapter. Today, I got my BobTat. I went to Ohio University and graduated a bona fide Bobcat! Bobcat + Tattoo = BobTat! (Thanks to one of my fellow Bobcats and best friends for that clever moniker!)

Below you will find the culmination of my tattoo collection and explanations! We’ll see how long I can go before adding to my canvas!

1. 2003: Jesus Fish on my hip. I got this on my 18th birthday. My friend Megan had the same one and I loved it, so she took me to get the same thing. I also knew I wanted to get something I wouldn’t change my mind about. 10 years later, me and JC are pretty tight.

2. 2006: “Faith” on my inside left wrist. Again with the religious tattoo. This one I got on OU’s campus with a group of my sorority sisters. The idea was to all get matching tats, but with such varied personalities and interests, we couldn’t settle on one design, so instead decided to get whatever we wanted, but all go at the same time.

3. 2009: “I carry your heart” on my inside right wrist. This is the opening line to one of my favorite poems by ee cummings. The 2 opening lines read, “i carry your heart with me(i carry it in my heart)” On my tattoo, the words “I carry” are in my sister’s handwriting and “your heart” are my brother’s handwriting. The family tree (notice the heart-shaped branches!) was designed by my dear friend and local Columbus designer, Shelly Klemmer.

4. 2011: “persevere” in my Mom’s handwriting with the same starfish tattoo she had on her chest. My mom died 2 years ago from endometrial cancer. No matter how bleak things seemed, she always managed to persevere. I found this word time and time again in her personal journals. She got the tattoo on a whim on a vacation at our family’s Florida condo. I went down and found the same artist that did her tattoo and had him do mine. He remembered everything about her, down to their conversation about both having adopted daughters.

5 & 6. 2013See here for these still fresh tat explanations!

7. TODAY!!! The newest addition to the canvas! She is loved.

 

2 thoughts on ““My body is my journal & my tattoos are my story.”

Leave a Reply

