Nice Tats!

For the past 4 months, I have sat with my friends while they permanently inked their bodies. I had 4 tattoos and after watching my crew add to their tattoo collections one-by-one, I knew I had to be next. I had a million ideas swirling in my head of what I wanted my next one to be. I couldn’t narrow it down, so I went to Pinterest to find more inspiration and try to narrow down my ideas. Well, I certainly acquired more inspiration, but as for narrowing down my ideas…ooh fah! I only added MORE ideas to my mental bulletin board! I have so many passions, thoughts and feelings that I want to showcase on my canvas…it makes it close to impossible to choose just one!

So, I chose 3. Tonight, I had 2 of my 3 ideas inked onto my skin permanently and I couldn’t be happier.

The skull & crossbones tattoo is an homage to my dear friend Emily and I’s 10 year Depp-a-Thon tradition. In short, it’s a weekend-long Johnny Depp movie marathon. And it’s awesome. And it all started with the first Pirates of the Caribbean! We saw it together and immediately knew that we had to see every movie (and TV show!) that he has ever been in. And in 10 years, we have accomplished that.

The words “be still” are in memory to my beautiful and amazing mother who passed away from endometrial cancer October 27th, 2010. “Be still, and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10) was her favorite Bible verse and she passed its sentiment on to me. When everything around me is chaos and I feel lost in the maelstrom, I only need to bow my head and remember that He is God and has everything under control.

On Monday, I will return to Jack at Fate Tattoo and have my 3rd piece done! Stay tuned!

I’d love to hear about your tattoos (already done or floating around in your head as haphazard ideas)! What are they? Where are they? Tell me all about it, stud!

4 thoughts on “Nice Tats!

  1. Love! I think that there comes a point in everyone’s life where getting a tattoo isn’t just about getting one, or getting one with meaning. I think that it becomes a marker for us in evolution. You know? Instead of a literal caccoon we hatch out of to signify change, we change ourselves beyond a haircut or a new style of fashion to wear. I ended up with tattoos every time I hit a point in my life where I just knew I wasn’t the same person anymore. Each time I grew into a new whole, I got a tattoo covered up, blooming my end tattoo (an entire side piece that goes from my chest down to my hip) into something filled with personal touches that only I can identify. While I don’t recommend getting tattoos covered over and over again (it sounds like a mess, but it worked out beautifully), it does say a lot about my life in the last 3 years. Yours say a lot, too! I can’t wait to see what you get next =]

    http://positivelybri.blogspot.com/

    • Hey girl! You are absolutely right about tattoos being a sign of life change. For the most part, my tats signify some giant change or moment in my life. From the death of my mother, to meeting my brother & sister at age 24 (now THERE’S a whole ‘nother post!) to honoring the greatest 4 years of my life at OU to struggling back and forth with my faith in God and somehow, always ending up back at His side. The person I am today, at age 28 (holy HELL, how did that happen?!?) is nowhere near the same person I was at 18 and my body is a visual journal of that through scars, smile lines, and now…tattoos 🙂

  2. Pingback: “My body is my journal & my tattoos are my story.” | Ending Up Here

  3. Pingback: What a Wild + Crazy Weekend! | Ending Up Here

Leave a Reply

