28 & Counting!

Today marked my 10,227th day on Earth. It has been a wonderful birthday season! I say “season,” because every year, I celebrate my birthday as much as humanly possible. Not only do I love having the excuse to see all my friends and family, but if I’m being honest (and I think that’s part of the purpose of this blog!), I love being the center of attention. I try to keep this part of my personality concealed the other 11 months of the year (I’m not sure I actually succeed at doing this!), but for the month of January, I let my fab-flag fly and soak up the spotlight. 

This year’s birthday celebrations were wonderful. I got to celebrate with my friends through dancing, parties, good food, a weekend out-of-town, and most importantly — through laughter. This time of year is always a reminder of how blessed I am, not only to be loved by so many beautiful people, but how blessed I am to be able to spread my love over those same people. I am thankful for all of you that celebrated with me in one way or another. Whether we were shaking our booties on the dance floor, feeling nostalgic over a delicious meal, giggling hysterically in a hotel room, sharing our lives over the phone or all of the above, your presence in my life, as cliché as it sounds, is truly the best present I could ever get. So thank you to each and every one of you for being the loves of my life.

For my 28th birthday, I decided to do a quick free-write (this is a brainstorming process I use with my students where you write down everything that comes to your mind, right as it comes) of 28 Things I’ve Learned in My Life Thus Far. Enjoy!

  1. God exists.
  2. Family isn’t only genetic.
  3. Be flexible. It’s annoying when I’m not.
  4. I don’t need constant company to be happy. Some time alone is actually okay.
  5. I can’t force a relationship, not matter how much I want it.
  6. My mind is stronger than my body. It can make my body work.
  7. Being happy isn’t hard. It’s a choice.
  8. Writing can be therapeutic.
  9. Friendships wax and wane, but no matter what, I must be there for my friends when they need me – no matter what.
  10. There’s nothing like the love of a puppy to make me smile through my tears.
  11. People’s bodies may die, but their souls live on forever through the people they loved.
  12. Never rely on another person to take care of me. (From Mom)
  13. Sometimes I need a day off of work for personal and mental wellness.
  14. I talk a lot. People deserve to be listened to as well.
  15. My dad might not always say or do the right thing, but his heart is always in the right place.
  16. Love doesn’t show up where I expect it.
  17. It’s incredibly gratifying to give a heartfelt gift to someone.
  18. Arguments don’t need to be resolved in a day. People will still love me, even if they’re angry with me, the next day. Take some time to breathe and think.
  19. I will never be too old for the magic of Disney World.
  20. Music has the power to make me feel emotions deeper than I ever thought possible.
  21. It’s ok to cry and want to give up, but don’t give up. And don’t cry for long.
  22. Don’t be afraid to wear the sexy stilettos. Stand tall and gorgeous at 6’4”.
  23. People will surprise me if given the chance.
  24. All people have something beneficial to offer this world.
  25. Sometimes, to really love someone else and to really love myself, I have to let them go.
  26. I can’t start the next chapter of my life if I keep re-reading the last one. I might re-read the chapter to remind myself of the lessons I learned, but I must reminisce and keep going.
  27. Work keeps the lights on and the closets brimming. I must do something I’m passionate for.
  28. Love exists.  Soak it up and drench yourself in it, so that on the days when you can’t feel it, you have enough saved up to lather on other people who need reminded.

 

This will certainly be a year to watch,

This will certainly be a year to watch!

Leave a Reply

