I’m Gonna Make You Sweat!

Last night was my dear friend and athletic trainer, Alexander’s birthday spectacular! I say “athletic trainer” because not only do my friends and I hit up his hot yoga classes twice a week, but we recently got month passes to his gym and have been getting our asses kicked in everything from kickboxing to spinning to dancing. He has been a major, if not the biggest, influence on my recent fitness obsession. Well, Alex’s birthday celebration consisted of a hot yoga class. But not just regular, heart pumping sweat glands in overdrive hot yoga class. Oh no. This class had blacklights and glow bracelets! We yoga-ed in the dark, which made it super badass. I can’t remember how many times Alex looked around and in his cheerful voice exclaimed, “That’s badass!” So you know it had to be.

Click here to check out a video of last night’s shenanigans! (Can you see me? 😉 )

This time last year, I was going almost weekly to a different hot yoga called Bikram yoga. Bikram yoga was super challenging for me because the room was 115°, there was no talking, and you went through a series of 26 poses (2 times each). I really enjoyed it because it was something that I had to do on my own, my own body and my own will power. But ever since starting Alexander’s class, I haven’t been back to Bikram. Alexander’s class is different every time (wanna work on your obliques? Sure! Wanna stretch out your running legs? No problem!), ~8 of my friends share in the 2 times/week workout with me, and we’re allowed to talk! Not only to we talk, but we joke and enjoy each other’s presence. After all, at the end of each yoga session, we say “Namaste,” which means “The good in me recognizes all of the good in you.” How can we truly appreciate each other’s goodness if we’re working out in silence?!?

(and in all honesty, all the end of each yoga session, we close with “Namaste Mothaf#*kas!” Click here for that inspiration! I’m telling you, it’s an amazing class. Let me know if you live in the Columbus area and would like to join us!)

Thanks to Alexander and the amazing crew of fitness fanatics I have befriended along the way, I am in the best shape of my life and am surrounded by people that daily push me to challenge myself mentally and physically. And if it means looking like this and having Madonna-Man Arms (thanks, Mike :P), I think I’ll keep it up. 😉

My Body of Workout

One thought on “I’m Gonna Make You Sweat!

  1. Pingback: Alexander Chang – Fitness | Amanda Shops Ohio

Leave a Reply

