Birthday Extravaganza!

Now, before y’all start throwing birthday well wishes out there all willy-nilly, I should preface this by saying that my birthday isn’t actually for another week, on January 21st! I will be out-of-town this weekend on a little Girl’s Trip, so my party came early, pre-actual-birthday this year.

I have found that no matter what goes awry  in my life, I am always surrounded by beautiful people. I don’t mean people who are beautiful on the outside (that just happens to be a coincidence! I swear!). I mean people who have beautiful souls. People that are not only striving to consistently better themselves, but people who lift me up to become the best version of myself possible. I figure at this point, I’m iAsh 7.0. Hah!

My friends are the kind of people who:

♥ May disappear for a while, but really come around when they sense that they are needed or wanted.

♥ Will respond to a 2am phone call or text (I think I need to thank every one of my friends for this!).

♥ Know my obnoxious, loud-mouthed, inappropriate side and love me nonetheless.

♥ Know my ugly, self-loathing, stubborn side and every time, remind me that 1) I still need to work on my crazy 😉 and 2) I’m being ridiculous.

♥ Tell me what I need to hear, not what I want to hear.

♥ Bring out things in me that I never knew existed (a passion for working out, most recently!)

♥ Support my crazy endeavors! (blogging, running a half marathon, becoming a teacher…)

♥ No matter what we are doing, create a plethora of fun.

♥ Accept the whole of me, and not just the pink, sparkly, shiny parts.

This is obviously just the tip of the friend iceberg, but these are the points that stand out to me at first review.

Once a year, I use my birthday as an excuse to attempt to gather all the people I love so dearly in one place and celebrate life and love. This past weekend was said celebration! I got to spend Friday night with a few close girlfriends gabbing, eating, drinking and just being girls. Saturday-day was spent with one of my best friends, Kristen, on Operation Sole Sister (she and I buy each other a pair of shoes each year for our birthday/Christmas gift). Saturday night was when almost everyone gathered at a local bar to party! That night happened so fast and was filled with such joy, that I didn’t truly get a chance to revel in it. Now that I have had a chance to pause and reflect, I feel so blessed to think of all the folks that came out, not just for me, but for a celebration of friendship. There were friends that I’ve had for almost 10 years and friends that I have had for just under a year. No matter the length of the relationship, I know that these people have filled my life with abundant happiness and purpose. I believe that God put us on this earth to love one another, and I am surrounded by so many beautiful illustrations of that every day.

Sparkle, Glitter & Shine! It's birthday time! (Click me to enlarge!)

Sparkle, Glitter & Shine! It’s birthday time! (Click me to enlarge!)

Leave a Reply

